New Seatbelt Law in Colorado

Colorado Seatbelt Law

Ann Bruce
Extension Specialist - Child Development/Parent

As of August 2010, Colorado expanded its child passenger safety law. All children under the age of 8 must be properly protected in a child safety seat when traveling in a motor vehicle. This change means thousands of 6-and 7-year-olds across the state will have to ride in booster seats. Previously, the law required only 4 and 5-year-olds to be in boosters.

Quick Facts...

  • Babies under 1 and less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing car seat and only in the back seat of the vehicle.
  • When babies turn 1 and weigh at least 20 pounds, the law gives them the option of using a front-facing car seat.
  • Children 4, 5, 6 and 7 must be in a child safety restraint. For most kids, it means a booster seat, but experts recommend children remain in a forward-facing car seat longer if the upper weight limit of the seat allows it (40-50 pounds).
  • When a child turns 8, the law allows them to use a vehicle seat belt. Safety experts recommend that kids continue to use a booster seat until they are at least 4' 9" tall.

Please see the CSU Fact Sheet Child Restraint in Automobiles for more information. If you have any questions ask an Extension expert at